Discussion Forum

Interative Forum for discussing any query literally to UGC-NET Computer Science, GATE Computer Science and Computer Sciene and Technology in general.

ugc_net image

UGC-NET Computer Science

Correspondence Courses and Test Series to prepare for UGC-NET computer science and applications

GATE image


MCQs, Lecture Notes, Ebooks for GATE preparation

freestuff image
jobs image

Jobs Newsfeed

Timely information of various Recruitments.


General Knowledge- UGC-NET / GATE -Part 1

Inda’ s First Women

India’ s First Woman Railway Driver : Surekha Shankar Yadav
India’ s First Woman Tabla Maestro : Dr. Aban Mistry
India’ s First Recognized Billionth :Citizen Astha
India’ s First Woman Airbus Pilot : Durba Banerjee
First Woman Secretary General Of Rajya Sabha : V. S. Rama Devi
First Indian Woman To Win Magsasay Award :Kiran Bedi
First Indian Woman Cricketer To Get 100 Wickets :Diana Eduljee
First Indian Paratrooper Of Indian Air Force : Nita Ghose
First Indian Woman To Complete Her MBBS :Kadambini Ganguli Bose In 1888
First Woman Cheif Engineer : P. K. Tresia Nanguli
First Indian Woman At Antarctica : Meher Moos In 1976
First Woman Foriegn Minister : Lakshmi N. Menon
First Woman Commercial Pilot : Prem Mathur Of Deccan Airways
First Woman Sahitya Award Winner : Amrita Pritam
First Woman President Of Indian Science Congress : Dr. Ashima Chatterjee
First Woman To Win WTA Tennis Tournament : Sania Mirza
First Chief Justice Of Mumbai High Court : Justice Sujaata B Manohar
First Indian Woman Advocate : Regina Guha
First Indian Woman Barrister : Cornotia Sorabji
First Woman Surgeon : Dr. Prema Mukherjee
First Woman To Get Arjun Award : N. Lumsden(1961)
First Woman Chairman Of Bank:Tarzani Vakil
First Woman Chairperson Of National Woman Commission : Mrs. Jayanti Patnayak
First Indian Woman To Receive Asiad Gold Medal :Kamalji Sandhu
First Woman Speaker Of State Assembly : Mrs. Shano Devi
First Actress In The Indian Cinema : Devika Rani
First Woman Finger Prints Expert In India : SitaVarthambal And Bhrangathambal
First Woman Doordarshan News Reader : Pratima Puri
First Indian Woman To Reach In Olympic Games :Sini Abrahim
First Indian Woman To Receive Norman Borlaug Award : Dr. Amrita Patel
First Indian Woman IAS Officer : Anna George
First Woman President Of Student’ s Union : Anju Sachdeva of Delhi University
First Woman Chairperson Of Rajya Sabha : Violet Alva In 1962

Latest Committees

1. Committee Set Up On Uttarakhand Floods : The committee will be headed by AK Ganju (Chairman, Ganga Flood Control committeesCommission, Patna).
2. JS Mathur committee : to revise NewspaperAdvertisement Rates.
3. K. Ratna Prabha : Committee on indecent depiction of women in media.
4. Mukul Mudgal Committee: looking into US giant Walmart’ s lobbying activities to enter India
5.Mukul Mudgal Committee: to look at process of film clearance.
6. MBN Rao Committee: to prepare the blueprint of India’ s first women’ s bank
7. SK Srivastava Committee: to formulate a policy on public-private partnership model to raise coal output..
8. K M Chandrasekhar Committee: for rationalization of foreign investment norms
9. Arvind Mayaram Committee: for giving clear definitions to Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) and Foreign Institutional Investment (FII)
10. Janakiraman Committee : To investigate the security transactions of the bank
11. MS Ahluwalia committee : to evaluate aspects related to set up of Nalanda University
12. Sitakant Mahapatra committee : for inclusion of Bhojpuri language in eighth schedule of constitution
13. N R Narayana Murthy committee : for evaluation of corporate sector participation in Higher Education.
14. C Rangarajan committee : for poverty scale estimates in the country
15. MB Shah committee : for inspection of illegal mining activities
16. N Rangachary committee : to examine taxation policies for I.T. sector
17. Parthasarathi Shome committee : implementation of GAAR (General Anti Avoidance Rule).
18. Deepak Parekh committee : for Financing Infrastructure sector
19. Naresh Chandra committee : 14 member task force on security issues
20. Bhandari Committee : Reconstruction of RRBs
21. RS Gujral Committee : suggest measures to boost MSME exports


1. UNO − New York
2. UNICEF − New York
3. UNESCO − Paris
4. UNIDO − Vienna
5. WHO − Geneva
6. UNFPA − New York
7. ILO − Geneva
8. IMF − Washington DC
9. WTO − Geneva
10. International Court Of Justice − The Hague
11. International Atomic Energy Agency − Vienna
12. World Bank − Washington D.C.
13. International Committee of theRed Cross -Geneva
14. International Maritime Organisation − London
15. Universal Postal Union − Berne
16. Food and Agricultural Organisation − Rome
17. World Meteorological Organisation − Geneva
18. SAARC − Kathmandu
19. Amnesty International − London
20. Transparency International − Berlin
21. World Intellectual Property Organization − Geneva
22. International Renewable Energy Agency − Abu Dhabi (UAE) (Interim Hqs)
23. Commonwealth of Nations − London
24. International Standards Organisation − Geneva